Neste guia, pode consultar as doações efetuadas à Biblioteca, ordenadas por área temática.
Clique no título para aceder ao registo bibliográfico no catálogo e em 
para conhecer o conteúdo das obras.
The Law
de
First published in 1990. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
French Legal System
de
This book provides a basic introduction in English to the French legal system, covering all of the key aspects in an accessible manner. The book is designed to be used either by itself, or in conjunction with French Legal System and Legal Language - An Introduction in French. French Legal System explains the sources of French law, the structure of the courts and professions, and the characteristics of the legal process. It provides an essential foundation for the study of more specific and substantive areas of French law. *More emphasis on topical issues of debate and reform, making it more interesting for students. *Has the benefit of being twinned with the French Legal System and Legal Language book. *Readable and straightforward approach in English, thus rendering the subject accessible to a wider range of students.
Guia de direitos do cidadão
de
O presente livro tem por objeto o estudo do sentido e alcance do princípio da razoabilidade, que o Código do Procedimento Administrativo de 2015 consagrou como um parâmetro geral de atuação e controlo da Administração Pública, no contexto mais vasto da problemática relativa à extensão e limites da subordinação a parâmetros de juridicidade do exercício dos chamados poderes discricionários da Administração. Uma vez esgotada a primeira edição, houve, nesta segunda edição, o propósito de, para além de se proceder à revisão geral do texto, tornar o livro mais leve, mais ágil, de leitura mais fácil - para o que se procurou que a exposição fosse mais focada no princípio da razoabilidade, tal como ele se encontra configurado no artigo 8.º do Código do Procedimento Administrativo, e, por outro lado, se tratou de aliviar a carga informativa contida na primeira edição. Espera-se que, deste modo, a nova edição torne acessível a um público mais alargado a nossa tentativa de desvendar o enigma do sentido e alcance do princípio da razoabilidade, como parâmetro de atuação e controlo da Administração Pública portuguesa
Wolf and Stanley on Environmental Law
de
Wolf and Stanley on Environmental Lawprovides law students, non-law students and professionals, such as Environmental Health Officers, with detailed but accessible coverage of environmental law in England and Wales.
Cases and Materials on International Law
de
International law is a crucial part of national and international affairs in the 21st Century as the process of globalisation proceeds rapidly. This was shown most starkly in the responses to the events of September 11 2001. The book is a vital tool to understand and analyse these affairs. This is a fully revised edition that includes recent materials on: international economic law, such as the responses to the "anti-globalization" protests; the regulation of the use of force, including actions in Afghanistan; the territorial administrations by the UN, as in East Timor; the increasing developments in international human rights law, such as the coming into force of the International Criminal Court and national human rights legislation; the clear obligations on States under international environmental law; and the role of non-state actors in the international community.
Textbook on International Law
de
Textbook on International Law provides a concise and accessible exposition of the key areas of International Law for the student. All the components of an undergraduate course are considered and analysed, with particular emphasis placed on the practice of states. The book provides a thoroughgrasp of both the theory and practice of International Law. This fifth edition has been updated to include new material on the use of force, the International Criminal Court, and terrorism.As well as being an invaluable aid for law students, this book will also help students of international politics and diplomacy in understanding how the international community actually works.
Basic Community Cases
de
European Community law has expanded significantly since the 1987 publication of the highly-acclaimed Basic Community Cases. The second edition has been entirely revised to include the key texts of the crucial cases on the EC/EU's constitutional structure, internal market, and external relations. The authors add in-depth analysis, criticism and guidance on each of these leading cases, making this essential reading for all students and teachers of the law of the European Union.
An Introduction to Law
de
Fully updated to incorporate all developments in the law since the last edition, this student text places emphasis on an understanding of the law and the legal system as living institutions within society. It also deals with how an appreciation of the rules and legal structures both reflect and influence changes in social, economic and political life.
Learning Legal Skills
de
Legal skills are certain to play an essential role in the future of legal education at both the academic and professional stages. Advocacy, negotiation and fact-finding will be studied alongside the more traditional topics of statutory interpretation and precedent. Once acquired, these skills will become fundamental to future studies and legal practice.
GCSE law /
de
Procedural agreements constitute a nebulous concept situated at the intersection of civil procedure law and private law, between the public sphere of the formal justice system and the private sphere of contract law. This book employs a broad definition of procedural contracts: what matters is not the legal categorisations but the procedural effects of the contract or agreement. While procedural agreements were earlier rejected with few exceptions, notably choice-of-court and arbitration agreements, a shift towards more permissive views has occurred in recent years. Based on reports covering 20 jurisdictions in the Americas, Asia, and Europe, this book examines procedural contracts, the variation in the extent to which they are given procedural effects, the types of issues that the parties are allowed to agree on, the limits of such agreements, and the manifest and tacit arguments for and against them. The special national reports discuss the legal framework of such contracts, be it statutory law, case law or general principles of law, and how procedural contracts are understood in legal doctrine. Many of them address the issue of whether there is a gap between the general, often restrictive, attitude towards procedural agreements and legal practice that recognises, at least some, procedural contracts beyond jurisdiction and arbitration clauses. Common types of procedural contracts, specifically, jurisdictions agreements, agreements on mediation, interim measures, the form of proceedings, costs, and appeals, are examined. Moreover, this book also discusses agreements relating to evidence, such as the burden and the standard of proof, access to evidence and the appointment of experts. Some of the reports identify additional types of procedural agreements. The special national reports shed light on the limits to procedural agreements, particularly those aiming to protect weaker parties, such as consumers and tenants, and third-party and public interests, and those posed by constitutional principles, notably access to court and fair trial rights. The rapporteurs also assess whether and how attitudes and practices related to procedural agreements are shifting. In addition to a comparative overview, the general report traces the nexus between the underlying civil procedure system, the beliefs it is embedded within, the arguments used to support or oppose such agreements, and the rules and practices regarding procedural agreements. The links between the contractualisation of civil proceedings and the related phenomena of ‘consensualisation’, flexibilisation and fragmentation are also explored.
Law of Contract 2007 - 2008
de
Examination questions in Contract Law can seem particularly daunting to students. This book shows how to tackle successfully the sort of problems and essay questions frequently found in examination papers. The authors suggest how answers should be structured, providing advice on what toinclude, and on what to leave out.No matter how good your research and study skills, the ultimate test for the law student is the exam. The more preparation you have, the better equipped you will be. Blackstone's Law Questions and Answers Series gives students the opportunity to practise their exam techniques and evaluate andassess their progress.Written by experienced lecturers, the series covers all the topics found on law degree courses, CPE courses, and other undergraduate courses where law is an essential element.Each title is divided into chapters covering each major topic and contains up to 50 questions and answers. Each chapter has an introduction focusing on important points and suggestions for further reading. Each question is followed by clear commentary highlighting the essential elements of eachquestion and indicating exactly what the examiners are looking for. This new edition also contains bullet pointed answer plans listing the main issues to be raised in each chapter, further reading at the end of every chapter, and diagrams illuminating key points to provide students with instantconfidence.
The Modern Law of Contract
de
"The sixth edition of this popular text provides a comprehensive and readable examination of the law of contract as it stands today. Rooted in a solid study of case law and statute. The Modern Law of Contract stresses throughout the areas in which the traditional model of contract is or may be challenged and developed. The accessible writing style encourages the student to think about and explore new lines of thought on a variety of topics while achieving a firm understanding of this pivotal field."--BOOK JACKET.
Law of Torts
de
One of a series, which is intended to give students the chance to evaluate and assess their progress in the study of the law of torts, this book shows students how to tackle the sort of problems found in examination papers. The authors have selected a range of hypothetical problems and essay-style questions from across the whole range of the law of torts. Considerable emphasis is given to the tort of negligence and its off-shoots, but there are also chapters on defamation , economic torts, trespass, nuisance and the rule in Rylands v Fletcher. Recent developments such as tne House of Lords decision in Cambridge Water Co v Eastern Counties Leather, Murphy v Brentwood District Council and Caparo plc v Dickman are all dealt with in a number of questions.;David Oughton also wrote "Common Law of Obligations" and "Consumer Law: text, cases and materials.
An Outline of the Law of Contract
de
The sixth edition of this classic text has been extensively updated and re-written to take into account all the legislative changes since the last edition. It examines thoroughly such legislation as the Contracts (Rights of Third Parties) Act 1999, the Competition Act 1998, the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000, the Enterprise Act 2002, the Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999, the Consumer Protection (Distance Selling) Regulations 2000 and the Sale and Supply of Goods to Consumers Regulations 2002.
The Law of Contract
de
The Law of Contract is a new, innovative textbook, presenting the 'core' of the traditional contract syllabus in a way that readers will find useful and stimulating on many different levels. For students who need an accessible, modern introduction to the subject, it presents the law in a direct, engaging style, with helpful tips for understanding its complexities and structuring answers to legal problems. But for those who wish to probe more deeply, it also analyses in detail the relevant legal principles, addressing current controversies and placing the law in its commercial context. In particular, the book explores academic commentary on the law of contract, summarizing and explaining the arguments and their implications.
Briefcase on Contract Law
de
First published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Contract Law, 2003-2004
de
The purpose of this book is twofold. First, it enables the student who has made some progress with studying contract law to revise the main points of a particular area in an easily digestible way. It should be of particular help to the student who finds that the mass of detail contained in some textbooks makes it difficult to identify the most important principles and essential cases. Secondly, it teaches, by illustration, the skills needed to write good answers to contract questions.
Torts
de
The aim of this work is to demonstrate to the well-prepared candidate how to translate the knowledge gained through studies into answers that will attract high grades, not by the quoting of abstruse cases that settle fine points of law, but by the logical use of material that should be within any student's grasp.
Briefcase on Land Law
de
Briefcase on Land Law provides the essential cases and statutory materials for most land law courses. All chapters have been revised to take account of recent case law and statutes. including the Land Registration Act 2002. Each chapter now contains a brief introduction. which places the cases into their wider context. There are new case summaries of such important House of Lords decisions as JA Pye Ltd v Graham (2002); Royal Bank of Scotland v Etridge plc (No 2) (2001); and Uratemp Ventures Ltd v Collins (2001). Also included are summaries of Taylor v Hamer (2002); Gillett v Holt (2001); Hair v Gillman (2000); Banner Homes Group plc v Luff Developments Ltd (2000); and Fuller v Happy Shopper Markets Ltd (2001). making this a valuable reference guide and revision tool for land law students.
Business Law
de
This innovative new textbook is an exciting and challenging introduction to the study of business law. It covers a wide variety of business law topics in considerable depth and at a high academic standard while maintaining an easily readable style. The content of the book is more comprehensive than is generally found in books of this type and includes a large number of questions and other learning features that students find invaluable. Subjects covered include: the English legal system and dispute resolution; the law of contract; sale of goods and the supply of services; agency; the law of torts; consumer credit; company and partnership law; employment law; intellectual property; trade descriptions, misleading prices and product safety. The integrated approach taken emphasises the policy behind the law and how different areas of law are interconnected. Business Law is a complete teaching package with many student-friendly pedagogic features and superb support materials for both lecturers and students. Key features: ? Clear structure - the text in each chapter is detailed but contains frequent headings, Test Your Understanding Questions and Key Points to keep the reader firmly focu
Law for Business
de
Smith and Keenan's Law for Business (formerly Advanced Business Law) is an established textbook on law for non-specialists. In the 12th edition the focus of the book has been improved to consolidate its position as a leading business law text especially suitable for business, accounting and finance students.
A casebook on tort
de
This casebook on tort is widely recognised as the leading sourcebook in the field. Designed as a one-stop shop, it offers a comprehensive selection of all the key cases, statutes and European legislation that is required for a thorough understanding of the law of torts. The materials are linked by a perceptive and stimulating commentary that both illustrates and explains the significance of judicial decisions, while guiding the reader through the difficult statutory material. Questions at the end of the extracts help promote analysis of the materials and ensure that they are fully understood. This edition covers such recent cases as Fairchild, Lister, Mirvahedy, Tomlinson, Transco, Rees and Wainwright. It also takes account of the impact of the Human Rights Act 1998
Criminal Law
de
Examination questions in Criminal Law can seem particularly daunting to students. This book shows how to tackle successfully the sort of problems and essay questions frequently found in examination papers. The authors suggest how answers should be structured, providing advice on what toinclude, and on what to leave out.No matter how good your research and study skills, the ultimate test for the law student is the exam. The more preparation you have, the better equipped you will be. Blackstone's Law Questions and Answers Series gives students the opportunity to practise their exam techniques and evaluate andassess their progress.Written by experienced lecturers, the series covers all the topics found on law degree courses, CPE courses, and other undergraduate courses where law is an essential element.Each title is divided into chapters covering each major topic and contains up to 50 questions and answers. Each chapter has an introduction focusing on important points and suggestions for further reading. Each question is followed by clear commentary highlighting the essential elements of eachquestion and indicating exactly what the examiners are looking for. This new edition also contains bullet pointed answer plans listing the main issues to be raised in each chapter, further reading at the end of every chapter, and diagrams illuminating key points to provide students with instantconfidence.
Winfield and Jolowicz on tort
de
he leading textbook on tort available providing students with the definitive and all embracing guidance they need to achieve top marks * Centred firmly on English law but covers significant developments in Commonwealth countries, and where appropriate European systems of tort law * Covers all key areas of tort law so students don't have to refer to a number of different textbooks * Goes through the nature and functions of tort law to give students a firm understanding of the purpose of tort law * Details the rules and principles that make up English tort law and explains how the law has developed * Looks at the remedies available so students can see the many different ways in a which resolution to a problems can be achieved * Includes extensive use of case citations * Contains full content listings at the beginning of each chapter and paragraph numbering to make it easy for students to find relevant information quickly * Analyses recent key case law including Re Deep Vein Thrombosis Litigation (carriage by air, strict liability), Buchanan v Jennings (libel; parliamentary privilege), and JD v East Berks AHA and Gorringe v Calderdale BC (public authorities) * Continues to cover the impact of the Human Rights Act 1998 on tort law * Covers radical changes in damages resulting in the introduction of a general power to award damages in personal injury cases by way of periodical payments * Discusses changes to the law of powers of arrest resulting from the Serious Organised Crime and Police Act 2005
Understanding Deviance
de
This is the new edition of the popular textbook, Understanding Deviance, which guides the new student through the major sociological theories of crime, deviance and control. Examining the significant frameworks of the sub-discipline, it opens with a discussion of the earliest schematiccriminology in the work of the University of Chicago in the 1920s, progressing through the theories of functionalism, anomie, symbolic interactionism and phenomenology and brings the reader fully up to date with a thorough treatment of the radical theories of Left Realism, a new section on socialexclusion and social capital and an analysis of 'third way' policies under New Labour.In this fourth edition David Downes and Paul Rock provide an objective account of the subject area that sympathetically outlines the principal theories of crime and rule-breaking, offering the major criticisms that have been voiced against them and constructing defences to these arguments. As withprevious editions, the authors continue to draw upon a wide range of international sources, placing all significant theoretical developments in European and North American contexts. The result is an indispensable guide to criminological theory offering a sound, yet accessible, foundation for bothundergraduates and postgraduates of deviance, criminology, and sociology. This textbook is essential reading for all those following courses in the area of crime, deviance and society.
Understanding Deviance
de
This is the new edition of the popular textbook, Understanding Deviance, which guides the new student through the major sociological theories of crime, deviance and control. Examining the significant frameworks of the sub-discipline, it opens with a discussion of the earliest schematiccriminology in the work of the University of Chicago in the 1920s, progressing through the theories of functionalism, anomie, symbolic interactionism and phenomenology and brings the reader fully up to date with a thorough treatment of the radical theories of Left Realism, a new section on socialexclusion and social capital and an analysis of 'third way' policies under New Labour.In this fourth edition David Downes and Paul Rock provide an objective account of the subject area that sympathetically outlines the principal theories of crime and rule-breaking, offering the major criticisms that have been voiced against them and constructing defences to these arguments. As withprevious editions, the authors continue to draw upon a wide range of international sources, placing all significant theoretical developments in European and North American contexts. The result is an indispensable guide to criminological theory offering a sound, yet accessible, foundation for bothundergraduates and postgraduates of deviance, criminology, and sociology. This textbook is essential reading for all those following courses in the area of crime, deviance and society.
Criminal Law
de
This text aims to provide a clear explanation of criminal law. As well as setting out the law itself, the book also examines the principles behind it and discusses some of the issues and debates arising from it. It contains broad coverage of all the main areas of criminal law, such as the principal homicide offences, offences against the person and property offences.
Cases and Materials on Criminal Law
de
A collection of material selected not only to provide a current state of criminal law but also showing how criminal law fits into a wider context. Material relating the study of criminal law to human behaviour, as well as the changing moral and political perceptions of society are included.
Criminal law
de
This popular textbook explains the basic legal principles of the UK constitution in an accessible and critical way. This, the third edition, has been substantially rewritten to emphasise general legal principles and controversial problems. Since 1997 the UK constitution has experienced greater changes than at any time this century. This new edition examines these changes including moves towards devolution and the Human Rights Act 1998
Blackstone's Police Manual
de
Developed in conjunction with Detective Training Centres, this manual provides a comprehensive guide to the key principles and offences in criminal law. Setting out the full text of offences and sentences, the manual considers the relevantcase law, points to prove and defences. It also includes, in full, the Crown Prosecution Charging Standards in relationto assaults and woundings.
Restorative Justice
de
First published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Intellectual property : patents, copyright, trade marks and allied rights
de
Intellectual Property
de
Intellectual Property is well established as the leading textbook in this area of law. It continues to provide comprehensive and authoritative coverage of the whole spectrum of intellectual property law as it applies in the UK. This new edition has been rewritten and updated to reflect the rapid evolution of IP in recent years, including: . Patents, biotechnology and genomics. Implementation of the Directives affecting copyright on the internet. The EU Design Law. The rapidly developing case-law on community and national trade marks. This edition features new chapters on IPRs in Digital Technology and in Biotechnology
Cases and Materials on Intellectual Property
de
This collection of cases and materials is a complement to any intellectual property textbook. Each chapter is prefaced by an introductory narrative and the extracts are linked and set in context by the author's commentary. The European dimension of intellectual property is covered including EC competition law and international conventions.
50 respostas
de
O presente livro tem por objeto o estudo do sentido e alcance do princípio da razoabilidade, que o Código do Procedimento Administrativo de 2015 consagrou como um parâmetro geral de atuação e controlo da Administração Pública, no contexto mais vasto da problemática relativa à extensão e limites da subordinação a parâmetros de juridicidade do exercício dos chamados poderes discricionários da Administração. Uma vez esgotada a primeira edição, houve, nesta segunda edição, o propósito de, para além de se proceder à revisão geral do texto, tornar o livro mais leve, mais ágil, de leitura mais fácil - para o que se procurou que a exposição fosse mais focada no princípio da razoabilidade, tal como ele se encontra configurado no artigo 8.º do Código do Procedimento Administrativo, e, por outro lado, se tratou de aliviar a carga informativa contida na primeira edição. Espera-se que, deste modo, a nova edição torne acessível a um público mais alargado a nossa tentativa de desvendar o enigma do sentido e alcance do princípio da razoabilidade, como parâmetro de atuação e controlo da Administração Pública portuguesa
Introduction to Comparative Law
de
An Introduction to Comparative Law first appeared in two volumes in 1987. Volume I discussed the nature of comparative law and then concentrated on a survey of the main features of the major groupings of the world's legal systems. Volume II focused on contract, tort, and unjust enrichment as major departments of private law. Now published for the first time in paperback, the two volumes have been combined into one to provide a comprehensive guide to the relationship between the world's legal systems.
Dictionnaire juridique = Law dictionary : français-anglais : French-English
de
Harrap's dictionnaire juridique : français-anglais ,Harrap's law dictionary : anglais-français
J Is for Junk Economics
de
J IS FOR JUNK ECONOMICS is an A-to-Z guide that explains how the world economy really works - and who the winners and losers are. The book includes more than 400 concise and acerbic entries, several essays, and a full topic index. Expanding on KILLING THE HOST: HOW FINANCIAL PARASITES AND DEBT DESTROY THE GLOBAL ECONOMY, Prof. Hudson's new book covers contemporary terms that are misleading or poorly understood as well as many important concepts that have been abandoned - many on purpose - from the long history of political economy. Two key concepts are RENT THEORY and DEBT, which explain how Unearned Income and the Financial Sector impoverish governments and populations the world over as power and riches flow upward into the hands of the few. Several additional essays provide background for key points and explore today's uncertain political and economic environment. To understand what's really going on, it's not necessary to re-invent the wheel; the major issues that guide healthy economies were known to the Ancients and were expanded upon by the classical economists of the 18th and 19th centuries, including Adam Smith, David Ricardo, John Stuart Mill, E. Peshine Smith, Simon Patten, Karl Marx, Thorstein Veblen, and others of many political stripes whose aim was to leave the brutal legacy of feudalism behind. Their ideas and principles are brought back into the spotlight here. It is hoped that this book will deconstruct today's "value-free," watered-down and deceptive economics that favor the wealthy, allowing the next generation to create a successful economy with proper checks and balances that will benefit everyone. This is a book you will want to refer to again and again.
For and against : an oral practice book for advanced students of English
de
Lloyd's Introduction to Jurisprudence
de
International Energy Law and Taxation Review is indispensable to energy and taxation practitioners. It is an international monthly review covering key legislation, court decisions and fiscal developments relevant to the energy industry. In addition to oil and gas law, the journal examines the complex and often inter-related legal issues emerging from developments in other energy sectors such as electricity and coal It discusses the changing patterns of international energy trade and its supervision around the world and the significant growth in environmental issues affecting this area of law
Central issues in jurisprudence : justice, law and rights
de
Legal Philosophies
de
Legal Philosophies has been written to provide a clear guide to the main topics in a jurisprudence or legal theory course with the novice in mind. It provides summaries of the pertinent arguments within these topics, and of the views of leading theorists. This new edition takes a look at the emergence of 'critical legal studies' and 'feminist jurisprudence', whilst there are new sections on 'moral truth' and 'communitarianism' (a revived theoretical approach).Contents:1. What is Jurisprudence About? 2. Natural Law and Moral Truth 3. The Command Theory of Law 4. Utilitarianism and the Economic Analysis of Law 5. Punishment 6. Kelson's Pure Theory of Law 7. Legal Concepts 8. Legal Realism and Critical Legal Studies 9. Hart's Concept of Law 10. Freedom and the Enforcement of Morals 11. The Morality of Law and the Rule of Law 12. Statutory Interpretation 13. Precedent 14. Dworkin's Rights Thesis 15. Legal Reasoning 16. The Duty to Obey the Law 17. The Historical School and Non-state Law 18. Sociological Jurisprudence 19. Law, Social Theory and Marxist Jurisprudence 20. Justice: Liberal, Communitarian and Feminist Index
As extraordinárias aventuras da justiça portuguesa : histórias insólitas de juízes, advogados, procuradores e de todos nós
de
International Legal English
de
International Legal English Teacher's Book is an essential companion for any teacher wishing to use International Legal English in the classroom. The book offers invaluable background information about the law topics discussed, giving teachers the confidence to explore these topics with their students. The Teacher's Book guides the teacher through the exercises in the book and suggests optional consolidation activities along the way. It includes 45 extra photocopiable activities and adds a whole new communicative dimension to the course, with lots of ideas for discussion and role-plays.
Opinion Writing 2004/2005
de
The writing of opinions is an important part of the practice of most independent practising barristers. The Manual takes a systematic approach in covering the essential elements of the skill of opinion writing. Good writing and the use of Plain English are considered first. The Manual then covers analysis of the issues in the case and the planning the structure of the opinion. Particular attention is given to considering matters which students of academic law will not have addressed in the necessary detail (or at all), such as the importance of advising on practical matters such as evidence and procedure. Chapters are particularly devoted to taking students with an academic background through a rigorous approach to analysing a brief and showing them how to apply their knowledge of the law. The Manual includes a selection of sample opinions written for various purposes by practising barristers.
