World Trade Law de
This newly updated version of one of the leading textbooks on world trade law offers what is in a number of ways a unique perspective on this important subject. Combining the best aspects of both casebook and treatise, this comprehensive textbook provides both detailed explanations and analysis of the law to help understand the issues as well as case extracts to offer a flavour of the judicial reasoning of trade adjudicators. Moreover, the book is truly global in outlook, being equally useful for students of international trade law in the UK, Europe, the US, Asia and elsewhere in the world. This updated edition includes in-depth discussions of the most recent developments in international trade jurisprudence, setting out important precedents that help establish the boundaries between global trade rules and domestic national autonomy. The implications of these rulings will be of great interest to traders, investors, government negotiators and even critics of globalisation.
Frontiers of Commodity Chain Research de
Extending the frontiers of commodity chain research, this distinctive volume includes original work from major figures in sociology, history, geography, and labor studies. It underscores the wide and interdisciplinary appeal of chain approaches for analyzing the economic, social, and political dimensions of international trade and production networks. Commodity chain analysis sheds light on the political and ecological implications of economic globalization and on how activists in pursuit of social justice, workers' rights, and environmental protection can use it. Following a substantive review of literature in the field, the collection goes on to examine theoretical and methodological debates over how to conduct research on global commodity and value chains, how power is exercised through these chains, and how global economic activities are coordinated across space. The result is a rich and unusually coherent volume that demonstrates how commodity and value chain analysis is informing contemporary research in a variety of fields.
International Trade de
Trade impacts on the lives of all global citizens, influencing the range of commodities available for consumption and where those commodities are produced. Driven increasingly by market exchange, trade shapes the nature of work and how the costs and benefits of that work are distributed around the world. Economic growth and development are closely associated with the flows of goods and services between countries. International Trade: The Basics offers an accessible and engaging introduction to contemporary debates on international trade, inviting readers to explore the connections between national political economies within a globally integrated world. Topics covered include: Why nations trade Globalization and transnational production networks Transnational governance The emergence of Asia as a major trade region Ethical trade and environmental sustainability Trade in solar energy, services and ideas. Featuring case studies and social media links that help to illustrate key concepts, this book is an essential read for anyone seeking to understand how trade varies between regions, affects relationships between countries and influences a country's social, political and economic life.
Mad about trade : why Main Street America should embrace globalization de 
Specialization and Trade de
Since the end of the second World War, economics professors and classroom textbooks have been telling us that the economy is one big machine that can be effectively regulated by economic experts and tuned by government agencies like the Federal Reserve Board. It turns out they were wrong. Their equations do not hold up. Their policies have not produced the promised results. Their interpretations of economic events -- as reported by the media -- are often of-the-mark, and unconvincing. A key alternative to the one big machine mindset is to recognize how the economy is instead an evolutionary system, with constantly-changing patterns of specialization and trade. This book introduces you to this powerful approach for understanding economic performance. By putting specialization at the center of economic analysis, Arnold Kling provides you with new ways to think about issues like sustainability, financial instability, job creation, and inflation. In short, he removes stiff, narrow perspectives and instead provides a full, multi-dimensional perspective on a continually evolving system.
Solución de diferencias ante la OMC : presente y perspectivas de 
Direitos humanos e revolução : temas do pensamento político setencentista de 
Bases gerais das empresas públicas : dec.-lei nº 260/ 76, anotado e actualizado até julho de 1987 de 
O descarrilamento e a regeneração do sistema monetário europeu de
Tese de mestrado em economia europeia na Faculdade de Economia da Universidade de Coimbra
O euro e o mundo = The euro and the world = L'euro et le monde de 
El recurso por omisión ante el Tribunal de Justicia de las Comunidades Europeas de 
El procedimiento de medidas cautelares ante el Tribunal de Primera Instancia de las Comunidades Europeas de
Cuadernos de estudios europeos ; 4
Portugal e o futuro da União Europeia : sobre a revisão dos tratados em 1996 de 
Politics of European Treaty Reform de
The major constitional, political and legal issues confronting the European Union as the end of the century approaches are discussed in this book by scholars in the field. Taking as their point of departure the Inter-Governmental Conference of 1996, which will set the parameters for the next stage of integration in Europe, they look at external and internal demands and pressures, and at the interests and strategies of the political actors involved. The result is a wide-ranging assessment of Europe's future.
O mercado interno e a circulação de mercadorias na Comunidade : contributos para o estudo do direito aduaneiro de Europa na primeira linha : o moldar da nova mundialização de 
A revisão do Tratado de União Europeia : contributos para a conferência intergovernamental de 1996 de Análise da problemática da integração de Portugal no sistema monetário europeu : reunião de 23 de Abril de 1990 de Quantum : quadro de ajustamento nacional para a transição para a União Económica e Monetária de Assegurar a convergência com a Comunidade Europeia : um objectivo da política económica do XII Governo de Crescimento, competitividade, emprego : os desafios e as pistas para entrar no século XXI : livro branco de 
Tariff Negotiations and Renegotiations under the GATT and the WTO de
The procedures and practices to implement the provisions relating to tariff negotiations and renegotiations have evolved considerably since the GATT was established in 1947. The provisions themselves have undergone some changes in the last fifty-four years. Professor Hoda reviews the evolution of these provisions and of the procedures adopted and practices followed by the contracting parties to GATT 1947 and the Members of the WTO. He goes on to offer some conclusions and recommendations. This book will be of particular interest to negotiators including Geneva based delegations, members of government trade ministries, economists, and all academics who specialise in trade policy.
A segurança social portuguesa : problemas, realidades e perspectivas de 
Tools and Weapons de
The instant New York Times bestseller. From Microsoft's president and one of the tech industry's broadest thinkers, a frank and thoughtful reckoning with how to balance enormous promise and existential risk as the digitization of everything accelerates. "A colorful and insightful insiders' view of how technology is both empowering and threatening us. From privacy to cyberattacks, this timely book is a useful guide for how to navigate the digital future." --Walter Isaacson Microsoft President Brad Smith operates by a simple core belief: When your technology changes the world, you bear a responsibility to help address the world you have helped create. This might seem uncontroversial, but it flies in the face of a tech sector long obsessed with rapid growth and sometimes on disruption as an end in itself. While sweeping digital transformation holds great promise, we have reached an inflection point. The world has turned information technology into both a powerful tool and a formidable weapon, and new approaches are needed to manage an era defined by even more powerful inventions like artificial intelligence. Companies that create technology must accept greater responsibility for the future, and governments will need to regulate technology by moving faster and catching up with the pace of innovation. In Tools and Weapons, Brad Smith and Carol Ann Browne bring us a captivating narrative from the cockpit of one of the world's largest and most powerful tech companies as it finds itself in the middle of some of the thorniest emerging issues of our time. These are challenges that come with no preexisting playbook, including privacy, cybercrime and cyberwar, social media, the moral conundrums of artificial intelligence, big tech's relationship to inequality, and the challenges for democracy, far and near. While in no way a self-glorifying "Microsoft memoir," the book pulls back the curtain remarkably wide onto some of the company's most crucial recent decision points as it strives to protect the hopes technology offers against the very real threats it also presents. There are huge ramifications for communities and countries, and Brad Smith provides a thoughtful and urgent contribution to that effort.
Dictionary of Trade Policy Terms de
The multilateral trading system represented by the GATT and the WTO is attracting more attention than ever. But the language used by trade negotiators can be difficult for the layperson and newcomers to trade policy to penetrate. This is an accessible guide to the vocabulary used in trade negotiations. Its nearly 2000 entries cover in simple language not only traditional GATT and WTO concepts, but also many of the trade-related activities, outcomes and terms used in other international organizations, such as UNCTAD, OECD, the Food and Agricultural Organization among others. It also explains the rules governing the formation of free-trade areas. Newer trade issues and developing-country concerns receive generous space. Its entries span the period from about 1947 when the GATT was formed to the present. Its emphasis is on current and recent developments. This new edition of an established dictionary includes first time entries contributed by the WTO.
O Tratado de Lisboa : génese, conteúdo e efeitos de
Primeira obra publicada em Portugal contendo a análise crítica das causas e dos principais temas do "Tratado de Lisboa" ("Tratado Reformador") e do seu papel no processo de integração europeia.
Contribuições para o estudo das relações entre a União Económica e Monetária e a racionalização do desenvolvimento industrial de
Dissertação de mestrado em Estudos Europeus apresentada em 1992
